top of page

Does The Cambridge Diet Cause Gallbladder Stones?


Does The Cambridge Diet Cause Gallbladder Stones?

In my last post I wrote that I was going to work on maintaining my weight since I had already surpassed my original weight loss goal on The Cambridge Diet and couldn't afford to keep buying smaller clothing every month. In an effort to keep weight on, I decided to go back to my old ways for a few days and indulge in fattening, high-calorie foods

Drastically modifying my healthy diet so quickly was a HUGE mistake. Six days ago I had a major gallbladder attack and had to have my gallbladder removed. Many people think that dramatic weight loss is the cause of gall stones. This simply isn't true. Attacks typically happen to people who have lost a great deal of weight and then decide to indulge a little too often like I did. This is why people think attacks happen as a result of drastic weight loss.

Many people go through life forming several gall stones due to a poor diet. These stones go unnoticed until the person does something to irritate the gallbladder and causes these stones to move resulting in an infection or an all out attack. In my case, deeply indulging in high fat foods for a few days after having a healthy diet for 7 months was a total shock to the system.

During my 3 days in the hospital I was questioned by all the staff about how I lost 65 pounds so quickly. I was able to teach them all about The Cambridge Diet and I left them a sample bag of Food For Life Chocolate to enjoy along with a few business cards. My surgeon told me that since I have already learned how to eat healthy, my low fat diet restriction for the next 2 weeks should be simple and The Cambridge Diet is the perfect choice to get me through.

I have lost a few more pounds since surgery and I will probably loose a few more before I completely recover. Instead of trying to slow down my weight loss by indulging I will just go with the flow. I am currently 214 pounds. I don't know my waist size since I'm still a little swollen at the moment.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page